Where in London is the Direct Vision Standard Enforceable?

The Direct Vision Standard came into effect on 26 October 2020, but enforcement of the DVS standard was delayed until 1 March 2021 to give businesses more time to meet DVS requirements with all the disruption caused by COVID.

By now, many vehicle operators will be familiar with what the legislation involves. Here’s a reminder:

What is the Direct Vision Standard?

The Direct Vision Standard (DVS) is the first legislation of its kind. Since 26 October 2020, all goods vehicles over 12 tonnes require a safety permit to drive into Greater London, including vehicles from outside the UK. If their vehicle falls short of the Direct Vision Standard star ratings, operators will need to fit extra safety devices.

Each vehicle type and model per manufacturer is allocated a star rating. The DVS rates HGVs from 0 (lowest) to 5 (highest), based on how much a HGV driver can see directly through their cab windows. To obtain these ratings operators must contact their manufacturers directly. Alternatively, complete Brigade’s DVS Star Rating form and we will find out your rating for free.

Vehicles which are 0 star rated must comply with the DVS Safe System. From October 2024, all vehicles that are 0, 1 and 2 star rated must comply with the improved DVS Progressive Safe System, which requires the fitting of extra devices including a camera monitor system, a sensor system, audible warning alarms and a Moving Off Information System (MOIS). Proof of installation must be supplied to TfL when you apply for your permit. It is also worth noting that if the vehicle is required on certain sites, the FORS and CLOCS specifications may be enforced.

Find Out Your DVS Star Rating

Where is the DVS zone in London?

Our DVS map below outlines the area of London where the DVS regulation is currently in force and where permits are compulsory. Don’t forget this will apply to all vehicles weighing more than 12 tonnes, whether they are from the UK or travelling into London from overseas.

For further information about Brigade and our safety products, please get in touch.

Direct Vision Standard (DVS) London zone map

Receive Your DVS Star Rating

Complete our online form so that Brigade can assist you with finding out your DVS star rating.